Roots & wings…..some thoughts on parenting

3

March 25, 2013 by nourishing buttons

rootswingsI first heard the phrase ‘roots & wings’ in my twenties and it resonated with me, although not being a parent yet myself I filed it away in the maze of my hedonistic mind.

Soon after having my first child these words kept popping into my head. I think they are a beautifully simple way of describing the legacy I want to give my children. I want to give them ‘roots’ – the security of a loving home, unconditional love, understanding and always being there (always as in forever, the relationship of parent and child never ends). And ‘wings’ – the self belief and confidence that they can achieve anything, that they are a special unique person, be interested in them, truly interested by asking questions about their hopes and dreams. In doing this I hope to build their self esteem, one of the most important things I can do for my children which I hope will stand them in good stead for their futures.

My children, all children, are beautiful unique souls who deserve to be nurtured. I chose to have them, and therefore choose to do the best job I can in raising happy, confident and content people. They have their own needs and I will not force them to fit in with mine. The Button family is a democracy with parental guidance. I had always wanted children, that internal biological force that inhabits us humans and ensures the continuation of the species. But I hadn’t looked beyond birth, being anxiously fixated on it (see post The Beginning to see where that mindset got me!) Now I am a parent I am consciously choosing to doing my very best for my children.

I totally underestimated the importance of the job of parenting before becoming a parent. Mistakes made in childhood follow through into adulthood and leave issues to be resolved to lead a happy life, and if left unresolved can lead to an unhappy life.

An oath to my children……’I will do my best to give you roots & wings and will always give you unconditional love, love Mummy xxx’

3 thoughts on “Roots & wings…..some thoughts on parenting

  1. Emma says:

    Lovely words, so true.

  2. Katie says:

    Very inspiring and thought-provoking!

  3. I absolutely love this saying, I heard it almost a year ago for the first time, a colleague of mine told me of this when I was first leaving my LO at nursery and feeling a bit wobbly about it all because she cried every time I left her, now 9 months down the road she loves it, kisses me waves goodbye of she goes with her key worker! I kept thinking of this every time I felt guilty and in the spirit of allowing her to discover her wings I feel so glad now that we learnt to stick it out she is a much more confident and adventurous young lady! X

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

mumsnet badge

mumsnet

Blog Stats

  • 2,022 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

